What We Teach and Why 2017-09-18T17:32:55+00:00

“The Inherent Worth and Dignity of Every Person”

As Unitarian Universalists, our first principle recognizes the “inherent worth and dignity of every person.” For younger children, we might express this principle more simply as “each and every person is important.”

We’ll broadly and deeply explores topics relating to our appreciation of differences and diversity, and more specifically of racial justice, in ways that are age-appropriate for children.

Our curriculum and activities are structured across ages and grade levels to focus on this principle in ways that are holistic, multigenerational, and multidimensional.

Participants will have the opportunity to

• explore ideas,
• develop relationships,
• and put values into action.

Following a natural path of childhood identity development, our exploration of the inherent worth of every person includes seven major sub-themes, to be approached in age-appropriate ways for the grade levels represented in our program – for example:

K-1-2 : Unit I – Individual Identity; Unit II – Respect for Others; Unit III – Family Identity; Unit IV – Group Identity; Unit V – Emotions; Unit VI – Intelligence & Creativity; Unit VII – Our Senses & Appreciation of Beauty

3-4-5: Unit I – Ourselves in Our Community; Unit II – Immigration; Unit III – Compassion; Unit IV – Non-Violent Communication; Unit V – Inherent Worth & Dignity; Unit VI – Justice & UU; Unit VII – Service Project & Guest Speakers

Please join us – and feel free to contact our Director of Lifespan Religious Education, Mary Shelden ([email protected]) with any questions you may have. Welcome all, welcome in!